A Masque of Infamy

Image

When Sage asked me if I’d be interested in reading this for one of her blog tours, I said yes without a second thought. And then I realized: Oh, I’m getting married in a week, trying to raise money for my book, and I’m doing one million things for school. I’m never going to find time to read this sucker.

As it turns out, all I really needed to do was start reading and the writing would carry me the rest of the way. This is a work of autobiographical fiction (in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Clive James) that deals with physical and sexual abuse, mental health, institutionalization, and punk rock.

It’s not a perfect novel, but it’s very good. The writing is solid, and if it left me with questions, it was also engaging enough that I read it despite the lack of time, in about two days. I related a lot to both the main character and his brother, sympathized with the brief relationships he had with his peers and how deeply invested he seemed in them, even while coping and calling out the complete bullshit of the adults in his life. I think that’s something that a lot of people will relate to. This is a pretty impressive first novel. I can’t wait to see what Kelly Dessaint will do next.

Advertisements

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Review of A Masque of Infamy | A Masque of Infamy

  2. Pingback: My Virtual Blog Tour Schedule | A Masque of Infamy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s